crossorigin="anonymous"> crossorigin="anonymous"> crossorigin="anonymous">
top of page
  • Writer's pictureAvaitors Maldives

National Airline Maldivian to resume flights to Bangladesh from 05th May

National airline Maldivian will be resuming flights to Dhaka, Bangladesh from 05th May 2021.

The airline's flights to Dhaka were suspended from 14th April following the suspension of all international flights to Bangladesh by the countries civil aviation authority due to a surge in COVID19 cases.

Yesterday, The Civil Aviation Authority of Bangladesh (CAAB) given the green light to selected countries to resume international commercial flights considering the risk of Covid-19 transmission.

“Following the government guidance and instruction, with effect from 0001 BST on 1st May 2021 until further notice, scheduled passenger flights between Dhaka and some selected countries shall resume operation as per their approved time slots under Summer-2021 schedule. Mentionable that Air Bubble flights will remain suspended until further notice,” - CAAB

Under the circular, countries have been categorized into three groups, Group A, Group B and Group C. Passengers from the Maldives falls under category C where:

Incoming passengers from Group C will have to complete 14-day strict home quarantine.

If any passengers get Covid-19 symptoms are detected/observed on arrival, he/she shall be sent to a government-authorized hospital for a further check-up or depending on the nature/intensity of the symptoms, will be sent to isolation at government nominated facilities or hotel at passenger’s expenses.

Passengers from Group C countries can have transit via the countries of Group A and B, provided that the passengers remained confined within the airport under the close supervision of the airlines.

A negative PCR test done in the last 72 hours will also be required for all passengers arriving in Bangladesh above the age of 10.

Countries in Group A are Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Georgia, India, Iran, Mongolia, Oman, South Africa, and Tunisia.

Countries in Group B are Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belgium, Chile, Croatia, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iraq, Kuwait, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Paraguay, Peru, Qatar, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, and Uruguay.

Group C includes countries not in Group A and Group B. The Maldivian national flag carrier will be operating three weekly flights to Dhaka, Bangladesh.



bottom of page